Home News India –Winners of India Golf Awards 2016 announced and celebrated

India –Winners of India Golf Awards 2016 announced and celebrated

3 mins read

The 3rd edition of theTake SolutionsIndia Golf Awards 2016 was held with much fervour at the hotel JW Marriott, New Delhi Aerocity. The chief guest of the evening, Amitabh Kant, who is the CEO of NITI Aayog and Secretary, Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion, gave away the awards. The Swedish professional golfer Daniel Chopra spoke about the state of golf in India. The winners of the India Golf Awards were selected by a strong jury after long hours of deliberations.Knowledge partners Technopak ensured that the process remained transparent and objective.


The award for Best Pro Golfer was given to S. Chikkarangappa in the Male category and in the female category it was shared by Aditi Ashok and Vani Kapoor. Anirban Lahiri earned the distinction of being anointed the Global Golf Ambassador due to him being the most-recognized Indian golfer in current times. He has single handedly managed to put India on the global golfing map, by virtue of being on the PGA Tour. Acknowledging the generous support of corporate India, the award for the Best Corporate Golfers was given to Arun Muruggappan and Pawan Munjal for their unstinting support to the game. Khalin Joshi, Shubhankar Sharma and Gursimar Badwalwere recognized as ‘Talent to watch out for’ in the future.

The Best Golf Academy award went to Vijay Divechaand his academy at Eagleton. Anitya Chand and Bamby Randhawa were recognized as the Best Teaching Pros in the country. The prestigious ‘ Best Golf Course’ in the country award was given to Kensville.


Gautam Thapar of Avantha was praised for his support for the game and his efforts with PGTI and received the award for Best Corporate Contribution to golf.

The India Golf Awards is the initiative by Shaili Chopra, founder of the online portal GolfingIndian.com. It is the only one of its kind in India which gives due recognition to the sport of golf and the lovers of this game. This initiative has had the backing and support of TAKE Solutions right from its inception. The Vice Chairman HR Srinivasan, who is prolific golfer himself says, “We are proud to be associated with India’s foremost award ceremony recognizing excellence in golf. It is exciting to witness all of golf’s brightest stars as well as corporate supporters of the sport on a single platform.”

List of Award Winners

Best Pro Player (Male) S Chikkarangappa
Best Pro Player (Female) Aditi Ashok &VaniKapoor
Best Rising Player (Male) Khalin Joshi &Shubhankar Sharma
Best Rising Player (Female) GursimarBadwal
Best Teaching Pro Anitya Chand &BambyRandhawa
Best Golfing CEO Arun M &PawanMunjal
Best Golfing Celebrity Latika K & General JJ Singh
Best Golf Academy Eagleton Golf Resorts
Best Golf Course Kensville Golf Club
Veteran’s Award Bunny Lakshman Singh
Global Golf Ambassador Award AnirbanLahiri
Dr Bharatram Life Time Achievement Award Ali Sher
Achievement for Corporate Contribution to sport GautamThapar


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

18 ÷ 9 =

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy